Sunday, May 15, 2016

Fuji X-T10

So most of my current co-workers know that I was a photographer in my life before nursing.

I guess it's not surprising that they don't find it amusing or strange that I came from a photography background as most of them came from another background.  Many nurses choose it as a second career.  In fact the rarer find is a nurse who graduated from high school, got their nursing degree, and continues to work as a nurse.  I have to pause and wonder if that's a comment on the career of nursing or a comment on how our system of careers work in theses United States.  Hmm.... possibly another blog post later.

Anywho.

Like most groups of people there are various levels of photography experience within my coworkers.  Most of them say they take photographs too... on their camera phones.  I always fight the urge to puke when I hear that.  One nurse tried to defend their statement because they use an iPhone.  I suppressed the urge to slap that Apple arrogance (iArrogant?) off their smug face.  Three of them actually have real photography equipment, and one has a rally nice set of Canon camera's and lenses.

I've thankfully gone through most of the standard questions and answers about my photo career:

• Yes, I loved being a photographer
  • No, I never made a lot of money as a photographer
  • No, I won't take their portrait/wedding/senior/soccer photos
  • Yes, I'll help them take better photos
  • Yes, I'll help them get better equipment
  • Yes, I'll look at their photos
  • Yes, I'll critique their photos
  • No, I won't hold back what I think just to be polite
  • No, I don't have any camera equipment